top of page
20th Anniversary
Let The Fashions Begin | Men of Substance Black Tie Gala
Friday, November 1, 2019 | 6:30 PM
The Westin Galleria
5060 West Alabama Street
Houston, Texas

The Men of Substance honorees are professional and civic-minded men
who will be  recognized for their contributions to the community.


They will be honored at the 20th Annual Let the Fashions Begin
Men of Substance Gala. The theme for this year's event is
“Your Time is Up, Sickle Cell”.

Event Chairs - Kelli Cohen Fein , Winell Herron & Karen Miles

2019 Men of Substance Living Legends

Claude Cummings
Riyad Abu-Taha

2019 Men of Substance


Amir Mireskandari
Bobby Scott
Dr. Clay Cohen
Dennis DeBakey
Duval Mitchell
Harry Smith
Councilman Jeffrey Boney
LaRence Snowden

Mario Elie

Nathan Lynch
Samuel Stolbun
Steven Stephens
Wasay Khan


Honorees must meet the following criteria:

  • Must have a high profile in the community

  • Must have a reputation for community involvement

  • Outstanding citizen

  • Proven leadership abilities

bottom of page